Can My Health Care Provider Charge Me To Get A Copy Of My Medical Records For Disability
In Maine, there is no regulation that prevents health care providers from charging you for a copy of your medical records that are being used for Social Security applications or appeals. Health care providers can charge you $10 for the first page and $0.35 for each additional page. There is no limit to what your health care provider can charge altogether.
While you can get your own copies of your medical records and submit them to Social Security with your application, if you are unable to afford them, Social Security can obtain them. Social Security has the obligation to request medical records that are not provided to them so that they have a complete view of your medical impairments.
Getting Legal Help With Maine Disability Benefits
Anyone facing the prospect of being unable to earn a living wage knows how important it is to be able to obtain disability benefits when they are so badly needed. But just because you have been told by your doctors you are disabled does not mean that the SSA will agree. It’s important to be able to present your case effectively, showing all the required documentation and having answers to any questions that may arise. In tough cases, it can require the representation of an experienced disability lawyer to present your case properly. If you are denied benefits, consult with a consult with a disability lawyer.
Need An Attorney In Maine
FindLaw’s Lawyer Directory is the largest online directory of attorneys. Browse more than one million listings, covering everything from divorce to starting a business to dealing with debt.
Detailed law firm profiles have information like the firm’s area of law, office location, office hours, and payment options. Attorney profiles include the biography, education and training, and client recommendations of an attorney to help you decide who to hire.
Use the contact form on the profiles to connect with a Maine attorney for legal advice.
Read Also: How Much Does Disability Pay In California
Drm Advocates For Individual To Return Home
A 35 year old man with mental illness was living in a licensed mental health community residence. The man went to the emergency room and was later transferred to a psychiatric hospital. Staff at the community residence informed the man that he was being discharged from his home and could not return to the residence. He had no other place to go and was facing the possibility of an extended long term hospitalization. DRM staff intervened and educated the staff at the residence on the legal rights he possessed regarding his housing. After being educated on his rights, the staff then agreed to have the man discharged back to his home at the residence.
How Long Are Handicap Parking Plates And Placards Valid In Maine
Depending on the disability plate or placard, permanent or temporary, the validity varies.
- Permanent: valid for up to 4 years
- Temporary: valid for 6 months or less
For your convenience, Maine handicap plates and placards just need to be renewed by the expiration date on the plate or placard and can be done by mail.
Also Check: How To Get 100 Percent Va Disability
Can I Report Handicap Parking Abuse
Unfortunately, there are instances where people who arent eligible for handicap parking and dont have any impairment misuse handicap parking spaces, plates, and placards.
If someone parks in handicap parking space and is able to move freely without issue to a destination, theres a chance they shouldnt have parked there.
Misuse of disability and access parking spaces are considered traffic violations by the State of Maine, if abused you could be subject of a fine of at least $200. Under no circumstances may a vehicle block handicap spaces.
You can report handicap and disability parking abuse by contacting local authorities and property owners.
History Of The P& a System
“The Protection and Advocacy concept was triggered by a series of local television news broadcasts, which Geraldo Rivera did for the ABC News affiliate in New York City. Rivera’s investigative reporting exposed abuse, neglect and lack of programming at Willowbrook, a state institution for people with developmental disabilities on Staten Island.
There are eight separate P& A programs all described briefly below, in order chronologically based on when they were created.
- PADD . PADD is the first P& A program, created by the Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act of 1975. P& A agencies are required by the Act to pursue legal, administrative and other appropriate remedies to protect and advocates for the rights of individuals with developmental disabilities under all applicable federal and state laws. The DD Act provided for the governor of each state to designate an agency to be the P& A and to assure that the P& A was, and would remain, independent of any service provider. Most entities designated as P& As are private non-profit organizations created specifically for the purpose of conducting the P& A programs. However, some P& As are part of state government, a few are hybrid quasi-public agencies, and a few P& As reside within civil legal services programs. Subsequent P& A statutes, with a single exception , provide for the new P& A programs to be housed within the same agency designated by the governors under PADD.
Also Check: How Much Is 60 Va Disability
How Do I Choose A Lawyer
Consider the following:
- Comfort Level
- – Are you comfortable telling the lawyer personal information? Does the lawyer seem interested in solving your problem?
- – How long has the lawyer been in practice? Has the lawyer worked on other cases similar to yours?
- – How are the lawyer’s fees structured – hourly or flat fee? Can the lawyer estimate the cost of your case?
Types Of Benefits Available To Individuals
Social Security disability benefits can be confusing. Rather than bury this important subject in my FAQs, I felt it important to explain the difference in its own space.
Social Security Disability Insurance benefits are paid out of the account that one has accumulated over the years of paying FICA taxes while working. It is the same account from which you are eventually paid Retirement benefits. The benefit amount depends on how much in FICA taxes you paid into the system. In other words, someone that worked part-time or had generally lower-paying jobs would have a lower benefit than someone that worked full-time at a higher-paying job. If your benefit is high enough, there is also a family benefit available for your children, and possibly your spouse. Your children must be unmarried and under 18 or no older than 19 and a full-time high school student. If you have a disabled child over 18 and the disability began before age 22, that child may continue to receive a family benefit.
Workers compensation benefits may cause a reduction in your SSDI, and MainePERS disability or retirement benefits will reduce your SSDI. Besides these benefits, you can have any amount of assets and resources and still receive your full SSDI benefits.
SSDI benefits are paid on either the 3rd of the month, or on one of the Wednesdays of the month.
Also Check: How Much Does Disability Pay In California
What Are My Chances Of Being Approved For Benefits In Maine
Your chances of being approved by Maine DDS at the initial and reconsideration stages are about the same as the national average . However, at the hearing stage, you have a significantly better chance of being approved for benefits by judges at the Portland hearing office than at other hearing offices in the U.S. In addition, the average wait for a hearing in Maine is only 10 months, which means a shorter wait time to receive a decision. Below is a chart that compares the statistics in Maine and national averages.
Stage of Application/Appeal Process
Protecting Your Right To Ssd Benefits
Social Security is a federal program that provides the safety net many Americans need, especially when they suffer disabilities that prevent them from working and earning a living. While pathways to disability benefits under Social Security are in place, they are notoriously difficult to navigate, surrounded by dense legal issues, and governed by strict guidelines. For these reasons, numerous applicants receive denials or disability decisions that may fail to meet their needs.
At Shaheen & Gordon, P.A., our Maine Social Security disability lawyers are committed to guiding hard-working disabled men and women through the complexities and legal challenges of SSD applications and appeals. By providing comprehensive assistance, educating clients about their rights and options, and handling the nuts and bolts of their claims, we strive to make the process as swift and successful as possible.
You May Like: How To Apply For Disability In Texas
Drm Intervention Ensures Equal Access For The Deaf At Maine Dental Practice
As a result of a legal intervention by Disability Rights Maine, a Maine dental practice which discriminated against a Deaf woman instituted a new ADA policy to ensure equal access for the Deaf, underwent ADA training for all staff regarding rights of the Deaf, and underwent monitoring by the Maine Human Rights Commission to ensure that discrimination does not happen again, in addition to individual relief provided to the woman.
A Deaf woman contacted Disability Rights Maine after a dental practice refused to provide her with effective communication, an American Sign Language interpreter, to be present for her minor sons dental appointments. The woman attempted to bring her child to the dentist and requested an interpreter so that she could understand what care her child needed. The practice refused her request, based on their policy of not providing ASL interpreters.
DRM attorney Kristin Aiello, who represented the woman, stated, In a previous appointment with her child, our client attempted to communicate with the practice in writing, which proved to be ineffective. For her childs next appointment, she attempted to work out the problem by providing the practice with resources for hiring an interpreter for her next appointment. The practice ignored this request.
How Long Can You Use Parking Permits
If you have apermanent disability, your parking permit will be valid for up tofour years. If your disability is temporary, youll receive apermit that you can use for up to six months. In some instances, yourdoctor may indicate that you dont need a permit for six months.For example, if youre recovering from a minor surgery or havebroken or sprained an arm or leg but expect to be back to normalwithin 2-3 months, your doctor may indicate this on your permitapplication.
Also Check: How To Get 100 Percent Va Disability
Our Ssd And Ssi Services
With a thorough understand of the Social Security Administration and the rules they implement for SSD and SSI programs, our Social Security disability lawyers are able to provide assistance to clients in a range of matters concerning benefits. This includes assistance with compiling all relevant information and documentation for new applications, which may also require assistance with medical records and disability determinations. We understand the common mistakes individuals without representation make when applying for benefits, and we know how to build claims that help our clients get it right the first time.
In addition to assistance with applications, we also help clients who have had their applications denied, or who have received unfavorable decisions, in appealing their cases. Appeals can be challenging endeavor, but they can be effectively handled by experienced lawyers who know what mistakes were made initially and how to structure an appeal so that clients secure the benefits they need. Our firm also provides comprehensive support and counsel to help clients understand how the system works and whether they may qualify for additional programs, including Medicaid or Medicare.
Handicap Parking Abuse In Maine
People who commithandicap parking abuse in the state of Maine can receive a fine of atleast $200. The fine can increase for people who parking illegally ina handicap space more than once.
Parking abuse isclassified as utilizing a handicap parking space without having ahandicap or disability. Keep in mind that you are not allowed to letyour relatives or friends use your handicap plates or placards forparking purposes if you are not in the vehicle.
If you seeparking abuse, be sure to tell the property owners, security or locallaw enforcement. Providing the authorities with as much informationabout the car that is illegally parked will assist police inresolving the matter.
For additionalinformation on handicap plates and placards, as well as details aboutrenewals and qualifications, contact the Maine Bureau of MotorVehicles at 207-624-9000.
Recommended Reading: Borderline Personality Disorder Disability Benefits
Group Home Residents And Students With Disabilities
Permit to fish without a license for periods of not more than 3 days as long as the fishing activity is conducted as part of an educational program. While fishing, all patients must be supervised by a member of the facility’s staff or a volunteer supervisor, or the patient’s must be carrying a valid pass from the group home or hospital which clearly states that he/she is a patient at the facility and authorized to fish under a Group Home Fishing Permit issued to the facility. Staff and supervisors are not covered by the permit and must possess a valid fishing license in order to fish.
Renewing A Maine Disability Placard In Person
If you are wondering how to renew your disability parking placard in Maine in person, note that every BMV location within the state accepts walk-in renewal requests. To successfully complete the in-person disabled driver car tag, applicants will be required to submit a properly filled out PS-18 and present an official identification document, if asked to do so. To facilitate the process in person, you can contact the state BMV prior to your office visit to verify the documents necessary to finalize the transaction.
Don’t Miss: 90 Disability Va
Renewing A Maine Disability Placard By Mail
To complete the Maine disabled placard renewal procedure by mail, disabled customers will be required to fill out the same application form used for the issuance of an original permit and send it to the BMV Augusta office. Note that when utilizing the PS-18 form to renew an expired placard, applicants will not be required to obtain a new physicians certification.
Also, prior to mailing the renewal application, disabled individuals must ensure that they check the corresponding renewal box on the request form.
Maine State Supplements For Ssi
Since 2015, a claimant of Supplemental Security Income can receive up to a maximum of $733 per month. In the state of Maine, a claimant may be eligible for a small additional payment on top of their monthly SSI payment. How much extra an individual can receive in benefits depends on their current living situation. Claimants living by themselves, with others or in a Medicaid facility can receive an additional $8-10 per month while individuals living a boarding home can receive an additional $217 to $234 per month.
This program is run by Maines Department of Health and Human Services. For assistance, contact your local office or call 287-3707.
Don’t Miss: How Much Does Disability Pay In California
Applying For Disability In Maine
How to apply and qualify for SSD, SSI in Maine Disability Applicationapplication for disabilityqualify for disability benefitsApplying for disability in MaineStarting an application for disabilityFiling a disability claimdisability interviewwork historyThe medical treatment and work historyQualifying for disability in MaineHow is the disability decision made?five step sequential evaluation processnon-medical requirements
Request for ReconsiderationThe Reconsideration decision processThe chances of approval at the reconsideration level
Chances Of Approval At A Hearing
The citizens of Maine have a significantly higher chance for disability benefits during an appeals hearing with an Administrative Law Judge . However, these applicants will have to wait longer for their hearing date and a final decision on their cases. Listed below is some updated statistics on Maine’s hearing offices.
Read Also: How Much Is California Disability Pay
Maine Social Security Disability
There are approximately 850,000 residents living in the State of Maine. Nearly 7 percent of these residents receive monthly Social Security Disability benefits from the Social Security Administration. More Maine Social Security Disability applicants will try to obtain benefits each and every year, and each year more there will be more applicants who are denied than approved. In fact, nearly 70 percent of the disability applications received by the Social Security Administration are denied during the initial stage of the application process. These applicants will then have to file an appeal in order to obtain the help they need from the Social Security Administration.
The initial disability claim process takes three to four months to complete, but this is only the beginning of the battle. Because most disability applicants are denied at this stage of the process, the majority of Maine Social Security Disability applicants will need to file a Request for Reconsideration, which is the first stage of the disability appeal process. Unfortunately, the Social Security Administration denies more than 80 percent of these requests as well.